Are you a Dreamer or a Doer?

I clearly remember the day I knew I was to run my own business. A form at my first corporate job out of college had the question: “What will you be doing in 20 years?” I wrote – “running my own business”. 
 
It had to be a creative one. I grew up in a house where art, music, books and creativity were celebrated. Father and mother were always pursuing creative experiences from woodworking to making amazing Halloween costumes and creating fabulous silk-screened Christmas cards. 
 
After 15 years in the corporate world and the arrival of my son, I felt my creative juices stir.  I started teaching classes in gift wrapping and bow making- a skill that I inherited from my Mom. I went to moms groups at churches, then community centers, PTA, adult education, and women’s groups. People then asked me to wrap their special occasion gifts. Word spread about my skills and companies and individuals sought me out. After years of building a clientele and doing research I opened a retail location.  Lisa’s Gift Wrappers, in its fourth year, carries 700 ribbon choices, 100+ styles of wrapping paper- from vintage to contemporary and custom. Our talented Wrap Artists create stunning, unique packaging. I am always teaching. Gift Wrap classes are offered at the store. I conduct marketing seminars to industry trade groups about the power of packaging and my Christmas Traditions Unwrapped is a historic look at holiday traditions. I am a doer and it feels great.
 
What are you dreaming about and what are you doing to get there?

Leave a Reply

