Read Any Good Books Lately?

I am a bookaholic. I can’t help myself. I love to read and learn new things- challenge what I know or don’t know.

So here’s what I have been reading-

In addition to reading them I also like to make books-from scratch, the old fashioned way.  You find the grain of the paper, cut and fold it, sew it into signatures and eventually cover it with an exotic paper or something you made yourself.

So imagine the thrill of reading “People of the Book” by Geraldine Brooks. It’s a story of a book conservator asked to analyze and conserve the famed Sarajevo Haggadah, rescued from Serb shelling during the Bosnian War. This book is one of the earliest Jewish volumes ever to be illuminated with images. It may be a small book, but an ever important book for the daily lives of a religion that goes back centuries.

It’s got history; tiny clues that give the travels of this treasure ideas and inspiration on its making, centuries of the way people lived and died.

You don’t have to love books as much as I do- but this book will keep you riveted. If world history is not your forte, don’t worry- the story is compelling. And in the end it’s about redemption and salvation.

Second set of books are “The Friday Night Knitting Club” and “Comfort Food” both by Kate Jacobs. Good beach reading or back on the patio kind of books. It is about the intertwining of women learning to knit and what happens in their lives. It’s definitely Chick Lit. But anyone who considers herself creative and craves being with like-minded women, will find some inspiration to find a group regardless of your skills, because it’s a whole lot of fun to belong.

Another subject area I’m reading (more for professional purposes) is Packaging Design. I am learning to incorporate great ideas into my own creative head. Some things might never work. Some might. But I push myself- and encourage my staff- to be open and inquisitive and to look in non-traditional places for that next level of creativity and inspiration.

And, last- my coupon find of the summer. Armed with a 50% coupon I walked (no really skipped with excitement), because I could go in and buy the most outrageous and expensive book that in my right mind I would never look at for fear of coveting it and not being able to do anything more than to visit it.

So I splurged on a book about one of my favs- the Arts and Crafts Movement. It celebrates the handcrafted, single artist made work of art. It can be from a luxury element, like silver or a humble piece of wood.  The colors often reflect the colors of nature. Since I am an artist of wool dying with natural dyes, like black walnut shells, and a weaver, this is a period that harkens to my early skills as an artist.

I opened one page and saw a piece of silver by a wonderful artist and I was hooked. But before the final purchase, I did drool over several other possibilities. I wish for more 50% off coupons- but truth be known I should not add to my book collection. I really do have enough.

Maybe I should have a trading group- people who love books like I do and just keep passing around so that more people can enjoy the book. (I know, I know it’s called a Library and was invented by Benjamin Franklin- I just am an impatient person by nature). What is your weakness when it comes to books?

Leave a Reply

