Time to Think Creatively

With Sunday and Monday away from the store, I often wonder why it is so hard for me to step out of my “business” persona and hop into my “creative” one.

Lately, I haven’t had the time to do it. There are endless things a small business owner deals with, like paperwork and taxes.  I have also had wrapping projects that required fine tuning and for this I seek quiet time with no phones or customers.

I feel deprived if I don’t get my creative time. And, of course, winter is a great time to stoke that creative energy. I’m not a real outdoorsy winter person- so I “invest” my extra time by going into the studio.

I need to re-charge after the Holiday season. I know I can speak for my staff as well that by Christmas Eve, we’ve thrown every creative ounce at our clients’ gifts and often need one of our peers to help us with our own gifts.

So I always target January, February and March as the months that I am going to finish a project, take an art workshop or just make a tour of the local art happenings in my area.

Plus, in this period of grey, I crave color. A trip to the local paint store to just look at color chips is a fun and not expensive way to revitalize my color sense. Or I travel to my favorite fabric store, Haberman Fabrics in Royal Oak, where I can look at fabrics and see textures and colors and potential sewing projects. (I’m not allowed to add to my fabric collection at the moment- since I only make straight line sewing projects; I’ve got enough fabric for about 30 projects. You would not see me on Project Runway unless it is called Pillow Runway!).

I’ve somehow already missed January and part of February- so I am looking forward to a week with my sister, Lydia and then a weekend at a mosaic workshop, both coming up in March.

So until then, I have to do 2 things- clean up and throw out junk from my studio and get a few projects back out and ready to go. On he nights when I make it home at a decent time, I go into my studio (a.k.a. basement) and paint or cut or sew or whatever.

One thing I am really glad I did for my studio was add some great lighting fixtures that give me halogen light for my close up work and natural light for my work table. This helps makes my studio space brighter and more inviting. Then I add some music to fuel the energy, like George Benson jazz, Salsa music or some Irish Pub music.

How do you feed your creative juices?

Leave a Reply

